Prof Yakubu new INEC Chairman.

Following the conclusion of the ministerial screening exercise yesterday, 18 ministerial nominees are set to undergo confirmation process today, October 29, as the Senate resumes plenary session.

With 18 nominees already confirmed as Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the Senate looks all set to determine the fate of the other nominees.

Topping the list of nominees to undergo confirmation today is former governor of River state Rotimi Amaechi.

However, a source has alleged that some caucus of the PDP senators has vowed to withdraw their support for Senate President Bukola Saraki should he force Amaechi’s confirmation.

Meanwhile , the Senate has concluded the screening and confirmation of the INEC chairman and the five INEC commissioners.

Professor Mahmood Yakubu as INEC Chairman.

Baba Shettima INEC Commissioner.

Antonia Taiye Okoosi Simbine  as INEC Commissioner.

Amina Zakari as INEC Commissioner.

Dr. Mohammed Mustapha Lecky. as INEC Commissioner.

Soyebi Adedeji Solomon as INEC Commissioner.

Responding to questions by the Senators , the new INEC Chairman said

“I cannot be intimidated in the discharge of my duties. I have the character to do the right thing.There is going to be a difference in the next general election.”

Prof: Yakubu added “We have to work to ensure a level playing ground on access to 

the media “Any nation that has no room for condemnation (criticism) is prone to failure.”

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.