High Achieving Nigerians Appointed To Top US Institutions

Established originally as the Institute of Medicine in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine, and related policy and inspires positive actions across sectors. Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

NAM works alongside the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering to provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine also encourage education and research, recognize outstanding contributions to knowledge, and increase public understanding. With their election, NAM members make a commitment to volunteer their service in National Academies activities.

So far, five medical professionals with Nigerian background have been elected as members of the academy.

  1. Prof Mrs Funmi Olopade (Oncologist)
  2. Prof Charles Rotimi (Geneticist )
  3. Prof Kunle Odunsi (OBGYN – Gynecologic Oncologist)
  4. Prof Adetokunbo Lucas (International Health)
  5. Prof Oyewale Tomori (Virologist)

New members are elected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.


A diversity of talent among NAM’s membership is assured by its Articles of Organization, which stipulate that at least one-quarter of the membership is selected from fields outside the health professions — for example, from such fields as law, engineering, social sciences, and the humanities

In addition these two engineers were elected into the US National Academy of Engineering:

  1. Prof Babatunde Ogunnaike (Chemical Engineering)
  2. Prof Ilesanmi Adesida (Electrical Engineering)